Join the DDA or

33 more medicines added to export blacklist

Items needed for UK patients

May 13th 2020

Tagged: DM Zone news MHRA alert


The Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC) and the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) have added 33 medicines to the list of medicines which must not be parallel exported from the UK.

The new restrictions cover specified pharmaceutical forms and strengths of medicines including:

  • Atenolol
  • Azithromycin
  • Bisoprolol
  • Buprenorphine
  • Dexamethasone
  • Digoxin
  • Glycopyrronium bromide
  • Ibuprofen
  • Lisinopril
  • Metoprolol
  • Tiotropium

The list, will continue to be reviewed on an ongoing basis, to include any product that meets the following criteria:

  1. the medicine is required to meet the needs of UK patients;
  2. the medicine is either being parallel exported or is at threat of being parallel exported; and
  3. the export of that medicine is either contributing to, or may contribute to, a shortage of that medicine in the UK.